Congratulations, 2021 Housing Innovation Award Winners!

Congratulations, 2021 Housing Innovation Award Winners!

DOE’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy has announced the winners of its 2021 Housing Innovation Awards. This recognition distinguishes the leading home builders across the country constructing Zero Energy Ready Homes, the federal government’s most rigorous guidelines for new residential construction. Grand winners in each of the award categories listed below will be announced during the Housing Innovation Awards ceremony on September 14th, at the Energy & Environmental Building Alliance High Performance Home Summit.

The categories for the 2021 Housing Innovation Awards include:

  • Affordable Homes
  • Attached Homes
  • Custom Homes for Buyers (< 2500 SF)
  • Custom Homes for Buyers (> 2500 SF)
  • Custom Homes on Spec
  • Production Homes

This year’s awards feature 29 homes from 27 builders across 14 states. These homes and home builders are recognized as the top 1% percent of builders in the country meeting the extraordinary levels of excellence in energy and performance specified in the Zero Energy Ready Home national program requirements.

To qualify for the Housing Innovation Awards, homes must first be certified as a Zero Energy Ready Home by a third-party verifier in compliance with national program requirements. All certified homes that have not been previously submitted for a Housing Innovation Award are eligible for the awards. Applications are reviewed by a judging panel consisting of national experts from across the building industry. The judges base their reviews on criteria that include energy performance metrics, land development, design, quality construction, sales and marketing, consumer education, and business metrics.  

A complete list of the 2021 Housing Innovation Award Winners is listed below. Learn more about the awards and view winning homes from previous years on the DOE Tour of Zero.

2021 Housing Innovation Award Winners

Winners in Affordable Homes 
Habitat for Humanity South Sarasota County - Venice, FL
Haynes Construction - Seymour, CT
Lopez Community Land Trust - Lopez Island, WA
United Way of Long Island - Deer Park, NY

Winners in Attached Homes
[bundle] design studio - Bellingham, WA
Clifton View Homes - Coupeville, WA
Garbett Homes - Salt Lake City, UT
Philgreen Construction - Fort Collins, CO
Targa Homes - Seattle, WA

Winners in Custom Homes for Buyer (> 2500 Square Feet)
TC Legend Homes - Bellingham, WA
Tim O’Brien Homes - Pewaukee, WI
S.D. Jessup Construction - Pilot Mountain, NC
Zero Net Now - Esopus, NY

Winners in Custom Homes for Buyer (< 2500 Square Feet)
BPC Green Builders - Wilton, CT
[bundle] design studio - Bellingham, WA
Deltec Homes and Old School Rebuilder & Co. - Asheville, NC
Energy Vision Homes - Hollis, NH

Winners in Custom Homes on Spec 

C & B Custom Homes - Cottonwood, AZ
Charis Homes - North Canton, OH
Dwell Development - Seattle, WA
Martha Rose Construction - Sedro Wooley, WA
Module Design Inc. - Pittsburgh, PA
Red Tree Builders - Asheville, NC

Winners in Production Homes

Garbett Homes  - Salt Lake City, UT
Healthy Communities - Williamsburg, VA
Insight Homes - Bridgeville, DE
Mandalay Homes - Prescott, AZ
McStain Neighborhoods - Denver, CO
Thrive Home Builders - Denver, CO

Special Honors

Davis School District- Farmington, UT


Learn More:


Comments are closed on this post.